BOARD OF EDUCATION PLEASANT HILL R-III SCHOOL DISTRICT PLEASANT HILL, MISSOURI Open Minutes of Regular Session

February 18, 2020

President John Edenburn called the open session to order at 7:00 p.m. at the Central Office at 318 Cedar.

CALL TO ORDER

Ryan Vescovi led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance. Todd Wilson read the district's mission statement.

The following board members and district staff members were present (unless otherwise noted):

Board Members

District Staff Members

John Edenburn, President Lori Redwine. Vice President

Lori Redwine, Vice President Dr. Steven Meyers, Supt Todd Wilson Dr. Becky Gallagher

David Adamczyk Deenia Hocker Ryan Vescovi Travis Ross Jessica Miller, Board Secretary

Staff Members Present: Terri Zimmerscheid, Kayla Taylor, Paul Canaan

REGULAR AGENDA

The motion was made by Travis Ross to approve the regular agenda. The motion was approved with a 7 yes and 0 no vote.

Consent Agenda was presented:

A. Approve the minutes of the previous meeting dated January 16 & 21, 2020.

- B. Approve the financial statements, monthly bills, transfer of funds.
- C. Program Evaluations- Differentiated Instruction
- D. Miscellaneous Contracts- SFE Commodities
- E. Student Transfer Agreements with local K-8 districts
- F. 20-21 non-resident tuition rate

Staff Recognition: The board recognized Terri Zimmerschied for her VFW District 6 Teacher of the Year nomination.

Cass County Public Library presented to the board the benefits of voting yes in the upcoming election's Proposition L, which would increase the property tax based operating levy by \$.12, which would help the library with improving brand technology and staff hours.

MSBA Board Report: The board watched MSBA's February 2020 update video regarding updates and changes to the MSIP, increasing teacher's salaries across the state, and Resolutions 581 & 525, which pertain to the expansion of charter schools in the state. After discussion, the board resolved to oppose Senate Bill 581, Senate Bill 707 and House Bill 1733 and to discourage the state legislators who represent the Pleasant Hill R-3 School District from voting in favor of these bills. The Board finds these bills to be poor public policy and, if passed, would harm public education for years to come. A motion was made by Todd Wilson to support the resolutions. Edenburn-yes; Redwine-yes; Vescovi-yes; Wilson-yes; Hocker-yes; Ross-yes; Adamczyk-yes. The motion was approved with a vote of 7 yes and 0 no.

CSIP Approval: Dr. Steven Meyers presented to the board the proposed updates to the district's CSIP, which included goals for student achievement, quality staff, safe schools, and financial stability with 20% in reserves.

Board Comments

CONSENT AGENDA

Superintendent Comments

The motion was made by Deenia Hocker to adjourn the regular meeting at 7:58 p.m. and enter into closed session with closed record and closed vote pursuant to Section 610.021 (3) of Missouri Law. Edenburn-yes; Redwine-yes; Vescovi-yes; Wilson-yes; Hocker-yes; Ross-yes; Adamczyk-yes. The motion was approved with a vote of 7 yes and 0 no.

ADJOURN

The regular open session was re-convened by John Edenburn at 10:18 p.m.

The Board reviewed the schedule for upcoming Board activities.

With no further business the motion was made by Todd Wllson to adjourn the meeting at 11:15 p.m. The motion was approved with a vote of 7 yes and 0 no.